KWHA General Membership Meeting January 14, 2017 Four Points Sheraton, Lexington, KY

The meeting was called to order by Woodrow Wilson, who welcomed everyone.

Mr. Wilson asked if everyone had time to look over the General Membership minutes from January 16, 2016. Scott Winkler moved the minutes be approved as presented, seconded by Dana Yeager. Motion carried.

Mr. Wilson asked if everyone looked over the treasurer's report. Peggy Bramerloh asked if anyone had questions. Daniel Carmichael moved the treasurer's report be accepted as presented, seconded by Scott Winkler. Motion carried.

President Scott discussed several things KWHA had done during 2016. He shared that KWHA had given \$7,500 to FAST in the last 6 months in support of the Tennessee Walking Horse. Also, fluids were purchased in the amount of \$500 for Spencer Benedict during his barn crisis. KY-HIO matched the money amount given for the fluids for Benedict Stables. Robin Webb thanked everyone on behalf of Spencer and Carrie Benedict. A monetary donation was also given to St. Jude's Research Hospital in the amount of \$2,000.00.

Darrell Collins reported on behalf of the Horse Show and Horse Show Site Committees. He reported the show had made money and thanked everyone for the sponsorships and for making the show a success. He discussed that the 2017 Kentucky Celebration would be in September and be held for 3 days and have 3 judges. He presented the site options for the 2017 Kentucky Celebration: Casey County Fairgrounds in Liberty and Mercer County Fairgrounds in Harrodsburg. The grounds in Liberty are not available during the time that has been chosen for the show. Mercer County Fairgrounds are available and meet all needs and criteria for the show. Discussion held. Darrell Collins moved that with only Mercer County Fairgrounds available and meeting all needs, no vote be taken and Mercer County Fairgrounds be the site for 2017 Kentucky Celebration, seconded by Scott Winkler. Motion carried.

Donnie May made a motion that Mercer County Fairgrounds be the home of the Kentucky Celebration striking out voting annually in the bylaws. Discussion held. Bobby Roach brought up the point of extreme circumstances could justify the location be changed and that the KWHA Board of Director's should have the power to act on another location. Donnie May amended his original motion to read that the Mercer County Fairgrounds be the home of the Kentucky Celebration unless extreme circumstances justify the location to be changed; if extreme circumstances justify moving the KWHA Board of Directors have the power to choose a new location. The motion was seconded by Bobby Roach. Motion carried. Bill Carmichael moved that the wording in the bylaws regarding the Kentucky Celebration have input from Robin Webb for appropriate wording, seconded by Renee Lainhart. Motion carried.

Darrell Collins reported on behalf of the Juvenile Auxiliary. A meeting was held before the General Membership Meeting. Elections were held during the meeting, discussion of a February trip, and having a horse show on the second weekend of May.

Daniel Carmichael reported on behalf of the Banquet Committee. He thanked all those that came and all that helped put on the banquet.

President Scott discussed Mike Davis' presentation at the banquet and some of the key points he covered. President Scott invited Robin Webb to give an update. She discussed the importance of 1) unity in the walking horse community and 2) explaining to horse show managers what is going on for their understanding so we can continue to have horse shows.

Roger Varney gave an update on the KY-HIO. He discussed how more horses were presented at shows. Mr. Varney met with Congressman Comer on the status of the Walking Horse Industry; he feels positive.

President Scott turned the meeting back over to Woodrow Wilson for elections. Mr. Wilson discussed the nomination and election process. He presented a list of names for directors from the nominating committee. The floor was open for nominations. Regina Fritsch nominated Wally Parrish, who accepted the nomination. Donnie May made a motion all nominations ceased, seconded by Doug Stephens. Renee Lainhart moved that the 11 (eleven) individuals on the ballot be

elected by acclimation for the 2-year terms, seconded by Regina Fritsch. Motion carried. Woodrow Wilson asked the nominating committee for recommendations for officers. Beginning with President, the committee recommended Daniel Carmichael. Kris Dunn moved nominations cease and Daniel Carmichael be elected by acclamation, seconded by Renee Lainhart. The committee recommended Darrell Collins for First Vice President. Bobby Roach moved nominations cease and Mr. Collins be elected by acclamation, seconded by Daniel Carmicheal. The committee recommended Jamie Tucker-Wiley for Second Vice President. From the floor, Scott Winkler nominated Charlie Lainhart. Charlie Lainhart declined the nomination. Tom Vest moved nominations cease and Ms. Wiley be elected by acclamation, seconded by bill Carmichael. The nominating committee recommended Peggy Bramerloh for Treasurer. Daniel Carmicheal moved nominations cease and Ms. Bramerloh be elected by acclamation, seconded by Renee Lainhart

President Scott turned over the meeting to the 2017 KWHA President, Daniel Carmichael. President Carmichael presented 2 changes that have been suggested by the Bylaws Committee. The first change, Article II-Section 1 (a)--Individual Membership. Individual membership shall be issued to such persons or organizations who have applied therefore and have been accepted by the Board of Directors. Individual members may attend membership meetings and shall have one vote. Individual members must be 18 years of age to vote. Individual members at the age of 18 or over as of January 1 of current year, shall be eligible for election to the board of Directors or to any of the office of the corporation. (Addressing the age at which individual members can vote for the board is the change.) was read and discussed. Donnie May moved that the change to Article II-section 1 (a) be accepted, seconded by Darrell Collins. Motion carried.

The second suggested change, Article III-Section 3-There shall be sixteen elected directors for the Association Board. Directors shall serve a period of two (2) years. The terms of office shall commence at the annual meeting of the membership. Eight Directors shall be elected at the Annual Membership meeting each year in order to stagger the terms of directors. (The recommended change is going from 22 board members down to 16. This will create a change from 11 officers to only 8 being elected each year during the general membership

meeting.) was read and discussed. Steve Swinford moved that the change to Article III Section 3 be accepted, seconded by Scott Winkler. Motion carried.

President Carmichael thanked everyone for attending the meeting. He spoke of the challenges the walking horse industry is facing and asked for continued support.

Darrell Collins moved to adjourn, seconded by Jamie Tucker-Wiley, motion carried.