KWHA Board of Director's Meeting

February 12, 2017

Four Points Sheraton, Lexington, KY

The meeting was called to order by President Carmichael. The members present were Kim Back, Peggy Bramerloh, Denise Calhoun, Darrell Collins, Dean Crawford, Kris Dunn, Billy Howard, Charlie Lainhart, Terry Logan Lunsford, Paige Smith Porter, Wally Parrish, Jared Scott, Jamie Wiley, and Dana Yeager. Regina Fritsch, Mike Hancock, Jason Joseph, Tina Moss, Doug Stephens, and Scott Winkler had excused absences.

The minutes from January 16, 2017, were reviewed. Darrell Collins moved that the minutes be approved as presented, seconded by Dana Yeager. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented by Peggy Bramerloh. Discussion followed the presentation. Darrell Collins made a motion to accept the treasurer's report, seconded by Charlie Lainhart. Motion carried. Regina Fritsch has requested to be removed from the checking account as the second signature. Peggy Bramerloh moved that Darrell Collins be the second signature on the checking account, seconded by Kim Back. Motion carried.

Lisa Evans sent a letter expressing her desire to resign from the KWHA Board of Directors. Kris Dunn moved to accept Lisa Evans' resignation, seconded by Dana Yeager. Motion carried.

Discussion was held regarding vacant seats on KWHA Board of Directors. Discussion was held to fill the seat that was vacanted by Beth Collins. President Carmichael would like to appoint Christin Wood to the vacant seat. Paige Smith Porter moved that Christin Wood fill the vacant seat from Beth Collins, seconded by Darrell Collins. Motion carried. Discussion was held on the seat vacated by Lisa Evans. All agreed to leave the seat vacant at this time.

Discussion was held regarding the Blue Book Committee. Terry Logan Lunsford agreed to fill the chairman's position left vacant with Lisa Evans' resignation. Peggy Bramerloh will do collections. Jamie Wiley moved that the price of advertising in the Blue Book be the same as last year (\$150 for a full colored page and \$75 for full black and white page), seconded by Darrell Collins. Motion carried. Discussion was held on date to turn in ads. Jamie Wiley made a motion that March 18, 2017, be the date all ads are to be turned in for the Blue Book, seconded by Dana Yeager. Motion carried.

Discussion was held regarding the Membership and Promotions Committee. Charlie Lainhart was appointed chairman. Jamie Wiley, Dean Crawford, Wally Parrish, and Dana Yeager will also help on the committee. Discussion was held regarding a barn party. Discussed and decided not to have a barn party this year. This committee will look into a date and time for a possible barn party next year. Discussion was held on sending a card to Lisa Evans (Thank You), and get well cards for Mike Hancock and Joe Gill. Cloia Collins will give Dana Yeager cards and a book of stamps to be used for this committee. Discussion was held on sending a letter and membership application to former members to help with the promotion.

Discussion was held regarding Bylaws Committee. Jamie Wiley was appointed chairman. Billy Howard, Doug Stephens, Jared Scott, Mike Hancock, and Dan Grigson will also assist on this committee.

Discussion was held regarding High Point Committee. Kris Dunn was appointed chairman. Terry Logan Lunsford, Wally Parrish, Scott Winkler, and Dean Crawford will also assist on this committee. Several suggestions were made for the committee to consider: 1) Expand the Trail Riding Division and 2) Add Junior and Keg Shod Speed Racking as a category. Laurie Herchenroeder was appointed High Point Secretary.

Discussion was held regarding the Banquet Committee. Jamie Wiley will chair the committee with Christin Wood, Denise Calhoun, Paige Smith Porter, Jason Joseph, and Kim Back assisting on the committee.

Discussion was held regarding the Scholarship Committee. Peggy Bramerloh was appointed chairman. Jared Scott, Regina Fritsch, and Darrell Collins will also assist with this committee.

Discussion was held regarding the Hall of Fame Committee. Billy Howard was appointed chairman. Kenny Smith and Denzel Allen will assist with this committee. Discussion was held regarding new way to get Hall of Fame inductees. The committee will come up with 6 names, then current members who were inductees will vote on who would be the new inductees.

Discussion was held regarding the Juvenile Auxiliary. Cloia Collins was appointed chairman. Kim Back, Jason Joseph, Terry Logan Lunsford, Jamie Wiley, Paige Smith Porter, and Darrell Collins will also assist with the committee.

Jared Scott gave an HIO update. A new judges clinic will be held on February 26, 2017, at Cottonwood. The DQP Clinic will be held on March 11th. The HIO will continue to give \$1 back to all shows that turn in payment and paper work within 30 days.

Jamie Wiley discussed where the 2018 banquet and events would be held. Peggy Bramerloh made the motion that the 2018 KWHA banquet and events be held on January 12 and 13, 2018, at The Four Points Sheraton in Lexington, seconded by Terry Logan Lunsford. Motion carried.

Discussion was held regarding the 2017 Kentucky Celebration. Jared Scott moved that the show have a 3 judge panel, Wally Parrish seconded. Motion carried. The Celebration will be affiliated with Ohio Valley, Eastern Kentucky Walking and Racking, and Central Kentucky Racking Association. Darrell Collins asked for ideas for classes to be shared. Discussion was held regarding a tabulator for the event. Discussion held regarding exhibitors party. Discussion held regarding outstanding sponsorships from 2016. Peggy Bramerloh will send a letter to those individuals and then turn the names over to the HIO for possible suspension.

The next KWHA meeting will be on Sunday, March 12, 2017, at the Four Points Sheraton in Lexington.

Darrell Collins made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Jamie Wiley.